The HOC's award ceremony for Rio athletes

Tuesday, September 27, 2016 - 11:49

The Hellenic Olympic Committee awarded all men and women athletes who competed in the 31st Olympic Games, in a brilliant celebration, worthy of the Greek successes in the “RIO 2016” Olympic Games. The celebration for the Olympians was held at the Zappeion Conference Hall, honored by the presence of the President of the Hellenic Republic Mr Prokopios Pavlopoulos and was transmitted live by the Greek national TV. In his speech, the President of the Hellenic Olympic Committee Spyros Capralos summed up the work of the Hellenic Olympic Committee and presented his proposals for the period until the Tokyo Olympic Games.

The celebration began with the entry of the athletes. The athletes who won positions 4th – 9th were awarded by members of the HOC Plenary Session. The Olympic medalists were awarded by Olympic medalists of previous Olympic Games and other leading figures. The gold Olympic medalist Anna Korakaki was awarded by the President of the Hellenic Republic. The gold Olympic medalist Lefteris Petrounias was awarded by the Deputy Minister for Sports Stavros Kontonis. The gold Olympic medalist Katerina Stefanidi (represented by her father) was awarded by the Olympic medalist Georgios Roumbanis. The silver Olympic medalist Spyros Gianniotis was awarded by the member of the board of STOIXIMAN.GR Ioannis Spanoudakis. The bronze Olympic medalists Panagiotis Mantis and Pavlos Kagialis were awarded by the Olympic medalists Sophia Bekatorou and former King Constantine.


The celebration was also attended, among others, by the President of the ICMG Amar Addadi, the President of the French Olympic Committee Denis Masseglia, the President of the Association of Friends of Children with cancer “ELPIDA” and UNESCO Good Will Ambassador Marianna Vardinoyiannis, the President of the Panhellenic Women’s Sports Association Katerina Panagopoulou, the High Priestess Katerina Lehou, the choreographer of the Lighting and Handover Ceremonies of the Olympic Flame Artemis Ignatiou, the IOC Honorary Member Lambis Nikolaou and members of the HOC Plenary Session.

?> ?>